UN – more visists to come /VN – nog meer bezoek

Excited & anxious, wondering what I’ve got myself into. Why? Because the Baha’i International Community has been appointed as one of the 3 organising parties (OPs) of the Women Major Group for the current 2-year cycle of the Commission of Sustainable Development (CSD 18 & 19). And I’ll be doing a lot of the coordination required over these 2 years.

It hasn’t sunk in yet….  Maybe getting a BIC email address will do that, or the next conference call with the UN, or when I start waking up at night, thinking about all the things that need doing to tight deadlines. Who knows? At the moment I’m just amazed and grateful for the opportunity offered to serve the worldwide Baha’i community.

Service is prayer” the Baha’i Writings say – well, there will be plenty of that between now and May 2011.

And no, I don’t necessarily think I know an awful lot about mining, hazardous waste management, chemicals and their effects on health & environment, transport, and the 10-year framework on sustainable production & consumption (SPC). But that will change rapidly I’m sure. Now, the search is starting for Baha’is who work in these fields . So, if you are, drop me a line and we might end up seeing each other in New York in May!

Leave a Reply

