Days 0 & 1 of CSD-19

It always takes a while to get back into the flow of the Commission of Sustainable Development (CSD-19), even if this is my 4th time. Do I remember where to go? How long does it take to get there? What silly things did I pack in my backpack that UN security want to see? Will I remember names of key people?

Yesterday (Sunday) was a long day, starting with breakfast with 2 Baha’is, a training/information session organised by the Major Group of the NGOs, picking up of my UN batch, more NGO training, and finally our briefing at the offices of the Baha’i International Community (BIC). It was fabulous to see my Baha’i friends, catch up with them, and get ours heads around the BIC focus points. More on that later.

Today (Monday) is Day 1 of the 19th session of CSD. For more general info, please look here.

I find the 1st day always a bit boring (I know, awful isn’t it?) with the general statements made at the opening session – everybody thanking everybody and expresssing their pleasure in being here. I wonder if that’ll still be the case at those days of negotiating at 3AM (fully expected later in the 2nd week).

The Women Major Group (WMG) is meeting at 6pm tonight, so I’ll attend that briefing.

Leave a Reply

